top of page

My top 5 Favorite Musicals

Long time no see here on the blog. In fact it`s been well over two years. However I decided to give you my return by geeking out over some musicaltheatre cause that`s something I`m very good at having opinions on and Iv`e seen a couple of new shows since last time. Today I wanted to share with you my top 5 musicals of all time. This list is a mix of both Broadway and off-Broadway shows because at the end of the day it`s freaking great theatre and that is all that matters. And there is so much underappriciated theatre so I want to shine a light on a few of these today.

My favorite songs from the show and it`s highlights. Hope you find a new show to watch/listen to and we can geek out in the comments if you want to be awesome. Shall we?

1. The Hunchback Of Notre Dame ( Off Broadway)

SO a couple of years ago I dedicated a full post to this show cause my favorite musical of all time and after almost 4 years I STILL find myself listening to the castrecording at least once a week. The absolute highlight of this show is Michael Ardens heartbreaking and phenomenal take on Quasimodo. His belt has me dead for days. The way he manage to act so tiny yet produce this powerful voice once he is singing, is bringing a wonderful contrast to the character that we truly need. At first glance Hunchback seems depressing and bleak (dont get me wrong it is) is all about hope and love and sacrifice. And even in the bleakest moments of the show even when some loverly characters die we still get the feeling of being on top because the characters never lets go of the hope of another day. Someday is the perfect example of this.

The soundtrack is a fucking masterpiece the choir is insane! My personal favorites include( in no order cause I can`t): 1. Olim 2. Top Of The World 3. Esmeralda 4. Out There 5. Esmeralda 6. Heavens Light (GOD this make me cry) 7. The Finale 8. God Help The Outcasts 9. Someday 10. Place of Miracles

2. Anastasia(Broadway) (EDIT: this show has now closed but it is still touring!)

Anya/Anastasia - Christy Altomare

Dimitri - Derek Klena (however recently the fab Zach Adkins took over the role but he is amazing I just haven`t seen the play with him in it)

Ever since I was a child I have been obsessed with Anastasia. The movie had such an effect on me that I named my teddybear Anastasia. Based of the animated movie of the same name but closer to the actual origin story of the Romanov Legend, we follow the orphan Anya who has forgotten who she is She befriends the conmen Vlad and Dimitri who takes her to Paris to pretend to be the lost Russian Princess Anastasia. The play focus more on Russias history of communism and the tsarkingdom itself then the animated movie. The villian from the cartoon is replaced by Gleb, a communist leader, played by no other than Ramin Karimloo, famous for phantom of the opera and love never dies. This is in my opinion such a smart choice for the stage, Gleb is a multifaceted character and the audience gain sympathy for him even though he is the "bad-guy" which I think makes for great theatre.

top songs : 1 Journey to the past 2. In my my dreams 3. My Petersburg 4. Once Upon a December 5. The quarter at the ballet 5. Crossing A Bridge 6. Still 7. A Rumor In St.Petersburg

3. Heathers The Musical(Off Broadway)

Veronica Sawyer - Barret WIlbert Weed

Heathers oh Heathers. The Show follows the story of 17 year old Veronica Sawyer and her journey to accept herself. She befriends the school`s popular girls "The Heathers" ( bascially three girls all named Heather lol) and she also start dating the myserious and handsome J.D. This musical has not been in my Life for more than about a year but I am obsessed with this show and trust me I don`t get obsessed with shows so easily. It is really different from anything Iv`e ever seen. It has an edge to it sure, and really profound topics like succide, gun violence, mental health, bullying, and self acceptance however this show is hilarious and really keep you on your toes, cause it will make you laugh as much as it will make you cry. From the movie of the same name Heathers is a great tribute but revamped and is living it´s best life. And this year it´s being put up again in London at the other palace starring the fab Carrie Hope Fletcher! (which I´m so exited for omg I love Carrie she will rock Veronica Sawyer!!!) EDIT: since writing this post it`s been transferred to the west end and GUESS WHO`S GOT TICKETS?? THIS GAL

SO to the best bit the music! Heathers is so cool and modern with really 80`s rocky undertones which makes it era-appropriate as it is in fact set in the 80`s. Barret Wilbert Weed is a fucking machine she is seriously made for this role I`m not joking she is a badass. My top picks for this show is 1. Candy Store 2. Dead Girl Walking 3. Seventeen 4. Beautiful 5. Meant to be yours

4. Les Miserables(Broadway)

if we don`t count High School musical or animated musicals this was probably the first musical to really turn me into a fullfledged musical-theathre nerd. Like so many others I saw the movie first... As aweful as I think it is I was able to see the story and it moved me so much. I was so in awe how music could tell such profound stories. it was a year after I had been in a musical also about war and sacrifife ( CHESS) and i just thought it was wonderful. Les miserables is a show for those of you really focused on the music. The casts for this show are always large and have incredible singers. ItÅ› not for the faint of heart though as itÅ› quite an emotional show, so if you are looking for glitter and fun dance routines I`d say look elsewhere haha.

My top picks: 1. Empty chairs at empty tables 2. On My Own 3. One Day More 4. Bring Him Home 5. Stars 6. Do You Hear The People Sing 7. A Little Fall Of Rain

5. Phantom of the opera(Broadway)

my top picks: 1. Music of The Night 2. The Phantom Of The Opera 3. Think Me 4. Primadonna 5. Masquerade 6. The Point Of No Return 7. All I ask of you

A nice bonus song is from the sequel "Love Never dies" that is called Till I hear You sing. I know itÅ› cheating but SERIOUSLY listen to that with Ramin Karimloo it`s GORGEOUS. ( he played phantom in both the og phantom AND love never dies)

It`s really funny to me once I decided to make this list and found myself putting this musical on the it.Phantom was the very first nonanimated moviemusical I ever saw. This is my mums all time favorite , so she eagerly showed it too me and my bigsister. I was 8 so I didn`t understand anything at the time and probably was bored to death but over the years it has reaaaally grown on me.( sure Christine is questionable af but so is Raol, but then so is the phantom... anyway)

I have never looked at this musical as my absolute ride or die but when I had to make this list I simply couldn`t ignore the fact I know all the songs to the show which rarely happen and that I listen to them so frequently they had to make an apperance haha. With that longass disclaimer aside. Phantom of the Opera is a beautiful musical with dramatics, heartache, opera , an 80´s organ/synth moment and a masked hottie. What more could you ask for?

There are SO many other musicals I ADORE and that would deserve to be on this list but these 5 are the ones I find myself listening to the whole thing over and over. If you want me to make a part two let me know!

oh and here is some playlists with some of the musicals :

1. the Hunchback Of Notre dame https://open.spotify.com/album/2rFRK6qKdQHNAaCcHjRzav?si=yYjKM1NSRkSMjjpia1rr6A

2. Anastasia : https://open.spotify.com/album/2dDzJlbHoVGKMGZF4wQfla?si=_m9sDlK7R4uSQ4KPHnT1vQ

3. Heathers OG american cast: https://open.spotify.com/album/6EIxlDI9fMtooJ1H3toRFO?si=aeaqbulATB-JBM8VshJhCg , Heathers British westend cast: https://open.spotify.com/album/6r3jhI1kXM7NkEDowpkxOU?si=kq-Jt2sUQHKlHfkXnx-Egw

Both Phantom and les mis i recommend you look up the 25th anniversay of Phantom with Sierra Bogess and Ramin Karimloo and Les Mis 10 anniversary in the royal albert hall.

All The Love Emma x

bottom of page