top of page

My top disney sequels

A while back I made a list over my top 10 Disney movies. I later promised a lot of Disney on this blog but as it turned out I have not blogged about that since that post, back in January! Well I am happily back with more opinions of one of my favorite topics and this time it's my favorite Disney sequels. I have not made a top ten this time though as the list is not that long. If you want me to do another one of these , like disney-sequels I like the least or anything Disney-related tell me in the comments I'd LOVE to know!

1. Peter Pan- Return to neverland

This was also in my top 10 disney movies where I explained more in detail why I love it so much. Go ahead and read that post here if you are interested :).

2. The Lion King 2 (1998)

Just writing that right now makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. This is by far the best sequel I can think of. It's one of my most beloved childhood-films and also one of my favorite disneymovies period. The Lion King has been a phenomenon since I was a kid and it's a disney-legend for a reason. I feel like the second one is not as beloved but it's so cute and important! It deals with topics such as racism and discrimination and lonlieness, friendship and love! Even as a kid I did understand it's message and it stayed with me. The soundtrack is also pretty good!

Another thing that HUGELY makes such a great difference to me, and what makes it stand so much out from other sequels Disney produced at the time was the fact that the animation was still great! Other straight to VHS- sequels had the worst animation ever, especially compared to their first masterpieces and the soundtrack was halfassed too and it's such a shame but it does make a great difference and sure plot is important too but to me animation is more than that, its the whole picture. This is why I think we hardly hear or them today. Quality over quantity in my opinion. If you have not seen the Lion king 2, DO so please!

3. Cinderella III - Twist In Time (2007)

OK so I know this is more of a prequel or "alternate ending" to the orginial Cinderella movie, but I just think it needs a spot on this list! I think this is a really fun spin on this and almost every character involved has far more personality than the first movie had. The Prince is the biggest difference I would say, you can really see who he is and his heart, where as in the first movie, sure he was nice and married Cinderella, there is notthing wrong with that but we didn't get to know him as an audience, and this movie really changed that! The king also showed insight and even the step sisters showed that there are more to a story than good and evil!

I think this version is very exiting and you really sit to the very end to find out what happens, even though you have already seen the first Cinderella movie! No spoilers but I recommend it highly!

4. Monster University (2013)

This is also a prequel but none the less I still think it's worth a mention on this list. When the first Monsters Inc movie came out I was like 4 years old and when this came out I was like 18, so in many ways I have grown up with this and it felt really cool that the animators seem to have thought about the fact that us who grew up with the film probably were in uni.

This prequel follows Mike and Sulley at university learning how to be a scary monster, partying and everything that follows with university life. It's seriously hilarious, very heartwarming and def in the spirit with Monsters Inc. The fact that this was spent so long to produce was not in vain, you can really tell the planning that went into this!

5. An Extremly Goofy movie (2000)

Anyone born in the 90's probably have seen "A Very Goofy Movie" and love it as the cultclassic it has become. The sequel is also worth a watch! This time we follow Max and his friends at university, but what happens when Goofy decides to take a collegeclass at Max's university? OPS!!! This movie is very funny and cute and if you like the first movie you will love this one :)

And I think that sums up my list actually! I am very picky with my sequels I think most Disney-sequels are for the most part OK but this list is the ones I feel like are it's own thing, has animation matching or better than the first one, and a great soundtrack. I hope you liked the list and plan to watch some of these if you haven't already!

Lots Of Love Emma xoxo


bottom of page