top of page

Turning 20

Yesterday, I turned 20 years old. It was the end of an era, the last night I was a teenager, the last night my age contained 1 in the front of my age. It felt really strange, leaving my teenage years behind. The older I get the faster I feel like time just flies. Where has the time gone? It seems like yesterday I watched disneymovies on VHS in my pj's or had my first performance. But at the same time I am so much richer in experience and on life now than ever before.

The thing I love most about getting older is that there are new worlds unraveled to me all the time. There are always new books to read, new music to hear, new people to meet and more lessons to be learned. Life is exiting and I am grateful that I get to live it. I have an amazing family who loves me and I have amazing friends ( all of them in uni but here in spirit). I was dreading turning this age, because I am a child at heart and I still want to be able to have fun and be childish, but I realized that I still can be. Sure I am by society's standards, an adult and I shall take that responsibility to it's fullest, but I won't ever stop being a kid at heart. It's the best thing about me.

But life has reminded me there is a new chapter ahead, a new chapter were I will meet more interesting people, who will teach me their point of view, there will be hardships, there will be ups and there will be new downs. I am so ready for my 20's, I am sure they will bring me so much joy. I thought I'd share some defining or happy memories I made as a teenager ( some more serious than others hahah) :

1. I got my first standing ovation at age 11.

2. I performed with chickenpox and high fever at the age of 14 and wanted to go back up there.

3. I hit the wall hardly and got back up.

4. I worked my but off and got accepted to the music program at high school

5. I got to be an aunt, and I am still and I am loving it more and more each day <3

6. I met the people that made me a better person, which resulted in some fantastic friendships I still have.

7. I watched all the High School musical movies when they premiered and knew all the lyrics ( still do let's be honest), that made me more intetsted in singing myself.

8. I found God <3

9. I went to see my favorite band of all time, Paramore ( in 2013) and it's still to date my favorite memory.

These are a few of my favorite overall moments I have had. To my readers you may not think of any of these as something big but they made me who I am and I cherish them all. To end this post I'd thought i'd share some pictures from last night. I had dinner with the fam and it was amazing. I am so lucky to have family this great and loving.

Lots Of Love xoxo Emma

bottom of page