top of page

The Hunchback Of Notre Dame : Studio cast recording

This blogpost is seriously long overdue. Today I wanted to share with you an album I wish would get more recognition. You may have seen the Disney verison of "The Hunchback of Notre dame" (1996). A tale of a hunchback befriending the gypsy girl Esmeralda and how to embrace oneself. Well the Composer Alan Menken ( my hero) and lyricist Stephen Schwartz who wrote the original music, was very passionate about extending the movie to stage and decided to write a fullblown musical which would have songs from the Disney movie with many new ones whilst the plot would be based more on the original book by Victor Hugo.

In 2014 they put up the musical for preruns in the La Jolla Playhouse, too see if audiences responded so that the show could eventually be put on Broadway. The crowd did love it but sadly it was not put on Broadway, something I think was a real shame. The show was incredible and heartwrenching and the soundtrack is so well written I consider it a masterpiece. In fact the show gained such a huge following worldwide that they decided to if not anything make a fantastic studio recording of the show. I preordered as soon as I could and I really do not regret it. This show is more mature than its Disneyinspirator and the songs are just amazing. It's my favorite musical, even if it didn't get the Broadway treatment. The highlight of this show is Michael Arden as Quasimodo. He is a powerhouse of a voice and his acting is so convincing. Even in the recording you can hear when Quasimodo enters as his voice is very uniquely done. Ciara renée is also great as Esmeralda! If you have not already please order this masterpiece here , order it on itunes, or listen to it on spotify here.

My favorite tracks are ( not in order though gosh)

1. Top of the world

2. Someday

3. God Help The Outcasts

4. Out There

5. Esmeralda

6. Made Of Stone

However the whole album is definitely worth a listen and to be honest I love every track. Here are some pictures from the stage show and also a picture of my copy of the CD.

Ciara Renée as Esmeralda ( who so very kindly faovrited and retweeted my tweet, when I told her how great she was in this role, what a sweetheart)

The wonderful Michael Arden as Quasimodo.

What's your favorite musical? Let me know in the comments!:)

Lots of Love Emma xoxo


bottom of page